The Langrug Childhood Development Trust
The idyllic valley of Franschhoek, is flanked by the mountains on three sides and lying on one of the tributaries of the Berg River.
Franschhoek, Dutch for " French Corner " was formally established in 1860, nearly two hundred years after the first Huguenot refugees settled in the valleys of the Great Drakenstein Mountains. The valley's original name " Oliphants Hoek", meaning " Elephants Corner " was so named because in those days elephant cows tracked over the pass from the hinterland to calve in this safe and verdant valley.
Driving through the picturesque valley of Franschhoek, one will find that most of the farms given to the Huguenots still bear their original French names and boast the gracious and magnificent Cape-Dutch architectural homesteads of those early pionering years. One can savour the fruits of the Huguenot's arduous labour from twenty-seven extraordinary wine cellars in the valley from small boutique wineries to large cellars whose sought-after wines are exported around the globe.
Today Franschhoek is renowned as the Gourmet Capital of South-Africa, with some of South-Africa's top 100 restaurants concentrated in this small village, together with many other fine restaurants. Both the many hotels and guesthouses as well as the restaurants offer a lot of work to the inhabitants of the township.